Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or a negative development ?

Nowadays, teenagers allocate far more time to mobile phones. There is a variety of reasons for it but entertainment and lack of interest overweigh the other ones. I am of the opinion that, it is a negative development in terms of socialising. Firstly, mobile phones offer various applications and websites for users and most of which require regular checking. In other words, new episodes of the series are added or tasks are accumulated in the games therefore people who follow them spend more time than average on the phone. Additionally, many children are suffered from a lack of interest allowing them to spend time with peers and making them away from a sedentary lifestyle. For instance, children who attend a course or sports activities spend less time at home. Indeed, many of them focus on their phones because they do not have any particular interest or better option to do. On the other hand, uncontrolled usage of smartphones causes harmful effects on social development. That is to say, pupils who get used to spending time alone, struggle with establishing a relationship with friends or finding a remedy for real-life problems which in turn leads to isolation. In the long run, these problems spring up in private lives and professional lives. In conclusion, teenagers tend to use smartphones unconscious which is mainly because of not have a particular interest and attractive content. I think, it precisely has a detrimental effect on the social development of children. As a recommendation, children's awareness should be heightened about technology and technological devices before turning into an addiction.