Young people who commit crimes should be punished the same as adults. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

A recent trend states that underage offenders must legally answer as adults. The discussion over this topic mainly exists due to the idea that adolescents benefit from the impunity, perpetuating crime. The paragraphs below will outline a strong disagreement towards this, explaining that there are no cientific information to support this decision as well as educational methods are more effective to avoid this problem relapse in the future. To begin with, the main reason to justify is the lack data to prove that lowering the age of criminal responsibility would be favourable to reduce crimes. As a matter of fact, according to the United Nations International Children's Emergency Fund (Unicef), at least 50 countries that had applied this reduction in the past, did not experience any change in their rate of transgressions among adolescents. Thus, the flawed examples of other nations is more than enough for this measure not to be applied. Furthermore, another cogent motive is that educational punishments are more effective to avoid relapse. Investing in violent methods for punishing as a solution would inevitably cause more violence and encourage these minors to rebel. For instance, in Brazil, young offenders who were convicted, but were inserted in the socio-educative system, enrolling in technician programs, were less likely to transgress after being released. Hence, authorities should invest in education to resocialize these individuals and give them the opportunity to enhance their life perspective. To conclude, I completely disagree with lowering the age of criminal responsibility since many countries tried and there is no information of success, not reaching its purpose. Moreover, to resocialize, studying and learning must be the main method, in place of incarcerate.