It is suggested that all the young adults should undertake a period of unpaid work helping people in their community. Does it bring more benefits or drawbacks to the community and the young people?

Nowadays, young people should be encouraged to volunteer more as volunteerism helps them acquire crucial social skills. More importantly, strong and young volunteers represent a vital resource for needed people. However, it is debated whether the above mentioned advantages outweigh some common disadvantages. Personally, I feel that a period of youth voluntary work is convenient not only for youngsters but also for the community. One of the main benefits that volunteering brings to young people is to increase opportunities of employment because they learn some social skills needed in the workplace. First of all, volunteers develop empathy for others and learn to talk far more effectively to other people. This will enable them to develop more communication skills. Secondly, volunteers devote a lot of time to doing things in groups. As a result, they are far more likely to be good at working in teams than people without volunteer experience. A good example is the fact that many employers highly seek volunteering experience in work applications. Meanwhile, the community benefits from strong volunteers as there are always heavy tasks to accomplish. There is no doubt that old volunteers do not possess as much physical strength as young adults do. This means that young volunteers may be resources for specific duties in the community. For instance, youngsters could be allocated to clean the streets of cities. Yet some people believe that volunteering is disadvantageous for young people because it is a waste of time. For example, critics argue that if youngsters who have completed high school devoted their time to volunteering, they would stop studying for a period. By contrary, they would be supposed to go to university or college and gain more knowledge. Furthermore, other people are of the opinion that youngsters are often inexpert volunteers, while in the community there are problematic people such as orphans and fragile ill people. This means that the community could not have volunteers able to deal with these people because young volunteers do not have enough experience in it. However, in my opinion volunteering would allow young people to be more connected with the real world than they would be by attending academic courses, and, also, they could learn fast to handle delicate situations with an initial tutoring by experienced volunteers. In conclusion, despite the fact that youth volunteering brings some downsides both to young people such as stopping for a while their career paths and the community which may have a lack of experienced volunteers, I’m convinced that a period of voluntary work is an investment of time for young people and an indispensable resource for the community.