You should spend about 40 minutes on this task. Write about the following topic. Some people say that advertising encourages us to buy things that we really do not need. Others say that advertisements tell us about new products that may improve our lives. Which viewpoint do you agree with? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience. You should write at least 250 words.

Advertising changes the buyer's journey. This is a fact. Some people argue that advertising encourages us to buy things we do not need. On the other hand, some say that advertisements educate us about new products and how they may improve our lives. Advertising methodology comes from the psychology of customers. Marketers study customers’ needs and create their advertisement campaigns according to them. The main purpose of ads is to touch the customer's main pain point and give him the solution. Marketers, here, educate buyers about the product and how it will help them or make their life easier. The role of advertising in marketing is to affect buyers' decision-making. Advertising is important to the marketing process to reach customers and increase brand and/or product awareness. This is the right use of advertising, which most marketers would agree to. However, some marketers use advertisements to encourage people to buy things they do not need. This was stated in a recent research which found that 76% of buyers shop for things they don’t need; they only buy what they think makes them more valuable to others. For example, we all need cell phones to communicate, but do we need a phone that costs more than a monthly salary? This here tells us that shoppers buy expensive things just to look good. One of the brand owners once said that “brands are a lie, made to fool the rich, and the poor believe them.” In conclusion, advertisements are now used in the wrong way to create more sales, which affects people's buying decisions and creates a gap between people’s needs and wants. This will eventually decrease the customers’ loyalty to brands and make the decision-making process harder.