Demand for food is increasing worldwide. What is the cause of this? What measures can the international community take to make sure the supply of food is enough?

Undoubtedly, there is a huge gap between the demand and supply of food, with demand being more and supply being minimal. There are many factors that play a key role for this. Few among those are, an increase in the population, Wastage of eatables, decrease in agriculture. We shall discuss more of this in the essay. The primary factor to discuss is the decline in agricultural lands and people interested in farming. In the olden days, Farmers are considered Gods, as they are a crucial source for everyone to eat 3 times a day. However, the scenario has completely changed now, farmers are not given the respect they deserve, neither financially nor socially. The secondary factor is, that countries like India are famous for their big fat weddings, where people gather and celebrate the happiness of the bride, groom and their families. There is an excessive amount of food wastage in such gatherings which nobody cares about. One other key aspect to consider is that there is a shortage of food in a few countries where the population is huge, which is due to lack of proper awareness and planning. The governments of respective countries must take necessary measures, as per their problems to make sure the supply of food is enough. Firstly the root cause for the shortage ought to be identified. For example, If the lack of food is due to its vast population, Enlightenment should be bought to the citizens through campaigns, and social activities. If the shortage is due to the wastage of food unnecessarily, a strict law needs to be passed by the administration and high amounts of fines must be imposed to make them responsible. The Government should encourage farming and provide funding and training to people who are really interested. To conclude, Food is very essential for any individual's growth and one should not be deprived of having it. Right support and funding ought to be given by the Government to the farmers and every human being should eat responsibly.