Some children spend hours every day on their smartphones. Why is this the case? Do you think this is a positive or negative development?

Nowadays, due to the rapid development of technology more people including younger ones spend their time on computers. This essay will discuss some reasons and also will shed light on the pros and cons of this development in the forthcoming paragraphs. To begin with, there are some reasons for using mobile phones. Firstly, it becomes easier to purchase mobile phones. It is available at affordable prices so parents buy them a mobile phone. Secondly, these days both parents are working so children feel lonely so parents buy them to spend time on mobile phones. They can communicate with their friends and relatives. Moreover, they also use mobile phones to play video games. Now, it also helps them in their studies. For instance, during COVID, schools were closed and the study was online so they spend time on smartphones. Furthermore, children also use mobile phones for online shopping and ordering food from online food apps such as Zomato. There are some advantages and disadvantages of this development. I believe that if students use it for a limited amount of time then this is really beneficial otherwise it generates health and social issues. Firstly, using mobile phones for study purposes, and online shopping is really beneficial. On the other hand, if students spend more hours in a day on mobile phones it generates some health issues such as short-sightedness, and obesity. Students also become less social they become more introverts. To conclude, I believe that technology is a boon for everyone. If pupils spend limited time on smartphones to study or communicate with friends is really beneficial otherwise there are multiple health issues.