Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do the environment? What can be done by government & individuals solve this problem?

It is an irrefutable fact that plastic has a detrimental effect on the environment. It is used in myriad forms, such as bags, bottles and packaging and it has a negative impact on the surroundings. It pollutes land and water, therefore, it is mandatory to reduce its effects on the planet. This essay will shed light on the problems which it caused and its solutions in the upcoming paragraphs. To begin with, there are enormous damages which it does to the environment. Firstly, It is a non-biodegradable product which means it cannot be decomposed. Due to this, it posed a severe threat to land and humans as well. For instance, Burning of its waste products can pollute the earth and if it is dumped down under the surface of the earth then it affects the fertility of the soil. Secondly, It also affects the marine life of various species, such as fishes. Limiting the use of plastic is the most effective way to solve this issue. Primarily, lawmakers and government should enforce strict rules and regulations in order to reduce its use. For example, in India, there are some states that put a complete ban on it and a penalty is also imposed on violators. Additionally, encouragement to its substitutes, like, steel bottles and paper packing, can be an effective solution. In addition to it, individuals can also take part in it. Initially, they can contribute a lot by following the policies laid by the higher authorities. Moreover, self-realisation can also put a stop to this persistent problem. To exemplify this, There are so many people who use other alternatives available in the market like cloth and paper bags in its place. To conclude, I would like to reiterate that it has numerous negative effects which can be reduced by taking collective measures. This can not be solved overnight, but, results are for sure if communities join hands with the government.