Some employers offer their employees subsidised membership of gyms and sports clubs, believing that this will make their staff healthier and thus more effective at work. Other employers see no benefit in doing so. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Nowadays, the health of employees has been receiving a great deal of public attention. Some people claim that focusing on health activities will be likely to enhance work performance. Others reckon that these activities do not bring any merits. Both views will be meticulously debated before giving my favour to the latter view. It is understandable that some extol the idea that doing exercises can gain dazzling advantages to increase work performance. It is because health plays an indispensable role in our life and work performance. This might be explained by the solid fact that the more wellness the workers have, the fewer reasons they have for taking sick leaves. However, this argument is implausible because leisure-based activities are quite difficult to quantify. For instance, fit shapes or better health of the staffs can be improved if they do exercises on the daily basis, it can not be seen in the short-term, which is not appropriate for people who have a strict schedule of works. To put more weight on my point of view that organizations should not spend budget on health pursuits, I believe that allocating money to tangible rewards is better. Firstly, employers are advised to focus on incentives such as vacations, pay increments, and on-the-job training, which will help the employees achieve better career progression. Moreover, investing money in training programmes instead of health activities can enhance a plethora of employees’ skills such as critical thinking, specialized knowledge, and so on. In conclusion, both views have their own logical reasons. While paying for health activities holds some credibility, it still has some flaws in its reasoning. I support using the money for other activities.