Some people say that protecting the environment is the government’s responsibility. Others believe that every individual should be responsible for it. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

Environmental protection is crucial for the city, some people believe that the government should take responsibility while others state that citizens should be responsible. This essay will investigate both views and agrees with the latter opinion. On the one hand, there are two reasons why the government should be responsible. The main reason is that the government can set up policies to protect the environment. For instance, they can set up the rubbish bag charging scheme, so under economic pressure, people will tend to throw less rubbish and reduce landfill waste. Another reason is that the government can educate citizens. They can hold some talks at schools or make some advertisements about how to protect the environment through the TV so it can allow people to understand how to be more environmentally friendly. Therefore, the government can have many ways to protect the environment, so they should be responsible. On the other hand, there are two reasons why individuals should be responsible. Firstly, their behaviours affect the environment the most. If everyone changes their habits a bit, such as throwing less trash or taking more public transports, those actions can provide huge effects on the environment. Moreover, its citizens’ choice to choose whether follow the government ’s advice. For example, when the government provide suggestions and advice on how to protect the environment, if the individuals do not follow them, it's still ineffective in protecting the environment. As a result, although individuals seem neglectable, if everyone can do it together, it will have a huge effect. To conclude, although government may have stronger power to control citizens, whether individuals cooperate or not is more important, so they have more responsibility.