There have been major advances in technology over the recent decades and this has lead to significant improvement in people’s lives. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

In recent times,the advancement in applied science has led to the betterment of people's lives. I totally agree with this statement, I will explain my reasons as I proceed with the essay. Admittedly, there are some minor drawbacks associated with the use of technology. Firstly, it has led to a reduction in the workforce. This is because automated machines have gradually taken over jobs that were initially done by individuals. A good example is the banking sector where almost all transactions are carried out by robots. This as a result has cut down the number of employees required in an organization, thus leading to a high level of unemployment. Apart from that, the high crime rate is another major factor. The reason is that a good knowledge of the internet has lured many youngsters into cybercrime, as many see it as an opportunity to make money illegally. However, despite the above minor demerits connected with automation,I believe that it has brought a lot of positive changes to our lives. Technology has over the years played a significant role by helping us gain access to information. This is due to the fact that the world has turned into a global village and just from the comfort of your home or office you can get any information you want which was merely impossible in the primitive period. In addition to this, a lot of businesses are done online. Most people buy and sell their goods via the internet without necessarily visiting a shop. Indeed, purchased items can be delivered to the buyer right at your doorstep. In conclusion, despite some minor disadvantages linked with the use of technology, l am in complete agreement that it has positively enhanced the well-being of people both in the areas of business and quick access to information.