People in many countries are spending less time with their family. What are the reasons, and effects of this?

In modern life, there are more and more people absence of family time. This essay will analyze the major causes and possible influences of this phenomenon. There are a variety factors account for this case, however, there are two leading reasons. Firstly, because of the demands of modern life, many people have to face more pressure than ever to earn money and success. In countries like Japan where most adults spend the major proportion of their life working, they tend to stay at work until late night and they find it harder to have time for themselves than with their loved ones. Secondly, modern technological developments have drawn most of people’s attention to social media platforms and networks. Some of them are even addicted to these types of technology and ignore people around them. For example, according to the Digital 2021 report of digital advertising company We Are Social (UK) Viet Nam has about 72 million social network users, equivalent to more than 73% of the population. Most of them spend more than 3 hours a day on social media and will become annoyed if they are not used for 1-2 days. The detriments of this trend are severe. But the first consequence worth mentioning is increasing the distance between family members. Less time members in the family can communicate with each other, making family bonds lower leading to misunderstandings and unnecessary conflict. Moreover, parents who are flooded with work schedules will have insufficient time for educating their children, which explains for the increase in juvenile delinquencies, anti-social behaviors more serious is high-level crime and violence. Last but not least, not communicating for a long time can lead to loneliness and depression, which has negative effects on health. In conclusion, people are having less and less time with family largely due to work and study pressures, and the impacts of this on both individuals and families are severe.