In a number of countries, some people think it is necessary to spend lage sums of money on constructing new railway lines for very fast trains between cities. Others believe the money should be spent on improving existing public transport. Discuss both these views and giver your own opinion

Individuals in some countries believe that spending money on bullet trains is necessary while others think it is more important to fund existing public transport. While fast trains could shorten the duration of mobility, I believe it is more important to spend more money on improving existing public transport, as it is more effective, both socially and economically. On the one hand, many people think fast trains are important because they can shorten travel duration for the passengers. As a result, fast trains are considered the appropriate way to increase people's productivity and promote economic growth due to their ability to move people in a short period of time. For example, the newly constructed Jakarta-Bandung fast train is seen as the solution to improve mobility problems between two big, productive cities, thus improving the passengers' and regions' productivity. However, I believe the cost of establishing fast trains is too much compared to the benefits. On the other hand, others think that funding existing public transport is more important, as it is deemed more cost-effective. As the government only have to focus on the existing public transport, they can spend less money and allocate it somewhere more important. Moreover, they also do not have to think about shifting passengers' behaviour, as public transport is already used on a daily basis by many people. For instance, many people consider the money spent on the new Jakarta-Bandung fast train is not prudent and demand the Indonesian government to spend more money on existing public transport, such as the commuter line. To conclude, even though many people believe that funding fast trains is important because of the time effectiveness of people's mobility, due to the lesser financial and social strains the government have to face, I think the money should be spent to fund the existing public transport due to the economical and social effectiveness.