In some countries, an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. It is, therefore, necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of food. Do you agree or disagree?

Throughout the world, the consumption of fast foods has increased to an larming height due to it being an affordable alternative lifestyle. Its cheap, quick and stuffing nature has led to to lots of people including it into their regular diets. However, fast foods are infamous for containing a high amount of processed fats that can lead to serious health issues like heart disease, obesity and type 2 diabetes if over-consumed. This leads me to strongly agree that urgency is needed in regualating the consumption of these goods. Fast foods are often lineups of food with high levels of fats. Consuming such products daily could seriously affect the health of individuals, with the consequences of getting chronic diseases such as type 2 diabetes. Furthermore, illness like obesity could cause problems in patients daily life, but it would also deteriorate the chances of survival when fighting against other diseases. The effect of obesity is unfortunately seen at young ages too. In fact in the UK, there has been a rising number of children who suffer from obesity. Hence, immediate government intervention is required to push consumers away from junk food products. In addition, by placing a higher tax rate on such products it sends out a signal to fast food companies to change its field of competition. With higher taxes consumption of fast foods would drop, and in order to avoid further downfall of the market, leaders would be nudged to shift their market strategy to a service that would have higher demand in the near future. Hence, in the long run it would reduce numbers of junk foods provided by the fast food market. A prime example of a company changing its competition field is FUJIFILM company in Japan. Originally the company sold film camera products, however seeing the fall in their market, they have shifted its market to medical equipment. In conclusion, examining the detrimental effects of fast food products, I strongly agree for governments to raise taxes on such goods. This way, it would save people out of unhealthy diets, but also create an opportunity for junk food markets to redesign their business model.