Childood obesity is an increasing problem in Australia as many as two thirds of children are now obese. Schools have a responsilbility to monitor what their students eat and the amount of exercise they do. To what extend do you agree to this statement?

Obesity is undoubtedly increasing, nowadays, with a reported 66% of children in Australia are now overweight. People believe that, learning institutions must take action on what foods are given to their students and incorporate physical activities within the campus. I totally agree with this statement. Firstly, the school plays a pivotal role in the selection of nutritious foods to be offered to their learners. This could be done through a more stringent supervision of their in-campus canteen on preparing snacks and meals for their students. A more variety of foods such as fruits and vegetables should be included in the menu. As a result, children will be much exposed to healthier options thus avoiding junk foods which are definitely detrimental to their health and can ultimately cause them to become obese. Furthermore, campuses should promote health education to their learners. This would be greatly beneficial in providing them knowledge on healthy habits at a younger age. Consequently, when they reach the age of maturity, they will remember what was taught to them in school. Moreover, teachers should include as well exercises and physical activities in their institutions. For example, exercises early in the morning, before classes can be done before starting their classes as it is a great way to set their day and boost their mind and body. Additionally, they can have physical exercises by means of gardening plants, fruits and vegetables. In conclusion, teachers play an important role in the development of young children especially when it comes to their health.