SOme believe that many countries, the investment of public money in arts can be justified. Other think that the government should spend more on health and education. Discuss both views and give your opinion

Arts is the soul of a country’s heritage. Some people support the government investing in arts, while others prefer it to be in essential areas such as health and education. In this essay, I will discuss both sides and why I believe more funding should be on the latter. Some individuals believe there are advantages to using taxpayers' money on arts. Firstly, it can fund more activities, which include supporting museums or art gallery exhibitions such as painting, sculpture, and literature. On top of that, the funding helps develop schools for performing arts and music. For example, there is hardly any art institute in Malaysia to harness young talents into becoming world-renowned artists. In addition, this investment helps retain the local culture and historical identity, for instance, preserving local performing arts such as Ulik Mayang in the Northern Malay Culture, since its tradition is dying with the older generation. On the other hand, I believe the government should prioritise its budget for pertinent sectors like health and education. For instance, health sector funds are essential to all citizens from infancy to the elderly as they provide the basic needs of medications, vaccines, life-saving procedures or outpatient clinics. Moreover, health education for the public is essential in preventing endemic; if it occurs, it will be costly for the nation. In addition, investing in learning increases peoples’ literacy rate and improves the economy as more intellectuals will populate the country to contribute to the GDP and income tax. This can be seen in Singapore, a country with one of the highest IQs globally, which attains one of the highest GDPs in the world. In conclusion, supporting the arts industry financially brings advantages in preserving culture and expanding new talents. However, I believe policymakers must prioritise funding in more critical areas such as health and literacy. After all, survival depends on basic needs, including well-being and literacy.