Some people believe that there should be the death penalty for extreme serious crimes. Others believe that it is not morally correct to kill criminals. Discuss both these views and give your own opinion.

A highly controversial issue today relates to whether to have a death penalty towards criminals that has acted on serious crime or not. In this essay I am going to examine this question from both points of view and then explain why I believe that it is still crucial for the penalty system to have deaths as an option. There are people who argue that the benefits of death penalty considerably outweigh its disadvantages. The main reason for believing this is that it is important for the criminals to pay the price of the act which they had taken. These criminals are people who have taken intolerable acts, therefore many believe that it is appropriate for such people to take according penalties, even if that is a death sentence. It is also possible to say that, by having extreme penalties as an option it also suppresses people from taking risky criminal acts. One good illustration of this is that in Japan the number of imprisonment is effectively low compared to other countries. This figure is thought to be in effect of Japan being one of few countries which has the death penalty. On the other hand, others believe that taking life away from individuals should not be a decision made by one another. People often hold this opinion tightly as many think that death is a decision made by fate. A second point is that allowing such authority to the police could be dangerous. A particularly good example here can be drawn out from past history, when the minority of the community were mass imprisoned and sentenced to death from the commands of the leaders. In conclusion, I believe both arguments have their merits. On balance, however, I feel that it is still important for countries to incorporate death penalties. This is because it gives out a clear message to the people on how extreme criminal acts are unforgiven.