Many people believe that educational standards have declined in recent times, particularly in the areas of literacy and numeracy . Discuss the causes of this problem and offer possible solutions to it.

It is considered that nowadays there is a decrease in the quality of knowledge obtained in educational institutions, especially in the spheres like maths and literacy. This can be due to the fact that generation Z students spend more and more time using smartphones also during lessons. Therefore, the available solution for the issue can be banning the usage of mobile phones in classrooms and providing alternative activities to keep children entertained.  The accessibility of the internet and social media has become a significant obstacle for the educational system as it disturbs students from the learning process and lowers the quality of obtained knowledge. For example, scientists have revealed that social media has a negative impact on modern children's ability to concentrate and consume a greater amount of information. If students would not able to focus on lessons and learn data not connected to the entertainment their academic performance will significantly suffer. As a result, educational standards undergo serious decline. To cope with the issue of dramatically decreasing academic standards, sanctioning the usage of personal gadgets like smartphones, iPods or laptops can help. For instance, if students have been adapting to life in classrooms without social media, they would have increased their ability to focus and study without any disturbing factors. Thanks to the neuroplasticity of teenagers' brains, this approach will enable learners to improve the quality of knowledge in not only literacy and numeracy, but also in a STEM field. To sum up, the main cause of the problem with lowering educational standards is the hazardous effect of modern social media on the vulnerable brains of children, which leads to the lack of concentration and inability to consume large amounts of data. Therefore, in order to overcome those obstacles school administration can ban mobile phones and personal computers in classrooms.