The exploration and development of safe alternatives to fossil fuels should be the most important global priority today. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is generally accepted that fossil fuels have contributed to many serious problems. As such, using clean and renewable energy to replace fossil fuels plays an important role in society today. I am partially in agreement with the view that safe energy should replace fossil fuels but feel that this activity should not be the global priority. Although oil, gas, and coal have become the most significant part of our life, they do cause irreversible damage. Burning fossil fuels, for instance, releases a lot of carbon dioxide resulting in the greenhouse effect in the atmosphere, which causes global warming. If this situation keeps getting worse, it is not unusual to see extreme climate change, which has adverse effects not only on the ecosystem but on human healthy, occurring all over the world. Safe alternatives including solar power, tidal energy, wind energy, and so on, by contrast, are environmentally friendly. It will be unfair to the developing countries if green sources replacing fossil fuels become the most significant global priority. Take some African countries as an example. They do not have advanced technology to explore safe energy, because this activity costs a fortune and is extravagant. When alternatives become the only choice, they have to import those energies from the developed countries, which will lead to further inequality in the world, and even exacerbate conflicts between states. In conclusion, there is now incontrovertible evidence that fossil fuels have many detrimental impacts on human health and the environment. In my view, although replacing fossil fuels may seem appealing, it would not be a fair move.