It is important for children to learn what is right and what is wrong at an early age. Punishment is necessary to help them the distinction. To what extent do you agree? What sort of punishment should be given?

Parenting comes with the great responsibility of disciplining their offspring. Penalties given to children help them to differentiate right from wrong. In this essay, I will discuss why I agree with this statement and the kind of suitable punishments. I believe penalising children helps them learn from their mistakes, take responsibility for their misbehaviour and develop a sense of self-control. For instance, if a 7-year-old boy hits his friends whenever he feels angry, then violence will be learned as an acceptable action, so the penalty teaches him to understand the consequences of his actions and allows him to discover the right attitude. On top of this, children also learn to model their parent's behaviour, so it is pertinent for them to show a good example in front of their children. A recent study showed that children who grow up with alcoholic parents have a 50% risk of becoming alcohol abusers themselves. Hence disciplining their heir needs to start with responsible parenting. What are the acceptable disciplinary actions? Disciplining should not be violent or painful, which may cause trauma to children and defeats the aim of educating them, so they should be informed of the reason they are being punished, which should be done with warmth and affection. Thus, suitable punishments include positive reinforcements, taking away their privileges for a limited time, time-outs or adding chores to their to-do list. Ultimately, the objective is to make them learn right from wrong. In conclusion, children may help learn right from wrong through punishment and parents modelling good behaviours. I firmly believe retribution should be done with warmth and without violence, which aims to educate the younger generation.