Many Countries today are experiencing high levels of migration from rural areas to cities. What are the causes of this trend, and what effects does it have on the existing city dwellers?

For countries, the exodus from villages is a common phenomenon. On the contrary, cities are overwhelmed with non-local folks. In this essay, I am going to illustrate the reasons behind that, as well as the damaging effects on original citizens. The causes of such a phenomenon vary from people seeking greater opportunities (and thus making a better living) to holding a grudge against the regional government for doing nothing to cope with issues in their hometown. Firstly, villagers realised that it is cities rather than villages that hold the most of the high-quality resources as they are more developed and therefore are able to lure tremendous entrepreneurs and educators. For instance, senior villagers could have become doctors or lawyers in the cities instead of raising cattle in the fields, with more wealth left for their children and themselves by working for an identical amount of time. Secondly, lazy and corrupted governors who indulged in maintaining the status quo to their small "kingdom" are able to successfully force massive migrations by doing nothing. For example, a host of folks just leave the county by climbing several mountains to the nearest city for a better living because the government never builds roads to the neighbour towns. Undoubtedly, the ensuing effects of such a phenomenon will mostly deteriorate the life of the existing settlers. On one hand, competition for educational resources could be more fierce than ever. As an illustration, my friend Xiao Ming was a conservative settler in Shanghai. He committed suicide after being infuriated by the massive "outsiders" who got higher grades than him on the SAT and thus no universities would like to accept him. On the other hand, the price of every product is following the surging demand. As an example, the living costs become higher since more people want to live in the city. It is the migration that makes the whole city overwhelmed by the fear of non-original dwellers. To summarise, the surging level of migration is causing headaches to politicians in those more developed areas. It could be triggered by villagers' pursuits of better-quality life, or they are just fed up with the hometown administration departments. Generally, such an event does harm to the original settlers in the developed areas as it may give birth to resource competition and meanwhile skyrocket the product price.