In some countries there are more young people choosing to enrol in work-based training instead of attending university. Do the advantages of this situation outweigh the disadvantages?

To be successful in a carrier, theoretical knowledge and practical knowledge are both equally important. The younger generation of some countries prefer on-the-job training rather than continuing their higher education at a university. However there are pros and cons of start working before getting proper theoretical knowledge of the subject. One advantage is that, to become an expert in a particular profession, practical knowledge is a must. Because The skill of a particular work develops with more engagement with the relevant work. For an instant, a good mechanic will be produced with more and more repairs which he engaged. Because then only he knows the fault more accurately. Another reason is that, financial benefit. In other words, an early starting carrier will help teenagers to be financially stable with their salary. One of the main disadvantages is early starting of the carrier just passed out from the colleges will lead to less theoretical awareness of the particular subject. As an example, before working as an accountant, engineer or any other profession, basic knowledge of the subject should be available. Otherwise there will be a lot of errors may occur. Another disadvantage is, that without having a good educational background, getting carrier progression is difficult or it may take a long period. For example, to become a manager it is not sufficient to have only the experience but a university degree. In conclusion, getting on-the-job training or getting theoretical knowledge is a personal preference. However while practical knowledge develop the skill, theoretical knowledge develops the understanding of the subject. Therefore both on-the-job training and university-level education are important.