Some people believe that economic progress is the only factor that can be used to measure a country’s success. Some others argue that there are some other factors. Discuss both viewpoints and give your own opinion.

people have different views about how to measure the success of a country, economic progress is is not the only method. In my opinion, I disagree with the idea that economic progress is the sole reason why this is the case, there are still a number of other factors that are equally important. There are some reasons that also can be as a measurement of national success. Firstly, the development of technology can improve the population’s quality of life which should be a key consideration when estimating a country. For example, the development of the Internet makes communication, shopping and learning more efficient, people don’t have to waste time commuting or information transmission which makes life easier. Secondly, we should also focus on the level of environmental protection. If we don’t think highly of protecting the environment, people might create mass waste and pollution which will contribute to global warming; Furthermore, it may cause smog and acid rain which will cause health problems. We can’t consider a country's success if it has such negative effects. At the same time, I believe the economic process is also important factor that affects the achievement of a country. If the government has enough money, it can invest in poverty construction, which can narrow the gap between rich and poor. People would not suffer from hunger and cold and the population's happiness would increase. People would work hard to create value and give back to society. The country could also give financial support to education that achieves students’ potential. It is a basic ensure of the national future. In conclusion, I would argue that the development of the economy is a vital factor but not the only factor when we judge a country, technology and the environment are also important if we say this country is successful.