Some people think the main purpose of school is to turn children into good citizens and workers, rather than to benefit them as individuals. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

The young generation of each country is its main part contributing to the future of that country. Schools as the second home of children have a significant role in their lives; as a result, there is a widely accepted belief which says they are only responsible to provide the future law-abiding citizens and productive workers. On the contrary, there is another hypothesis against that which points out that schools should concentrate on students' happiness and personal growth regardless of the society and professional market requirements. I believe to some extent both ideas are correct and the right way is to utilize both ideas at the same time. On the one hand, a proportion of people agree schools have to provide both educational and vocational curricula for students to provide the nation with citizens who will behave based on the predefined rules and act proactively in the industry as employees. For example, these days, elementary school pupils are encouraged to join different extra-time classes including sports, dance, science or vocational. On the other hand, there is an idea against the aforementioned belief which says if kids require to know their mental and physical characteristics first, then they will figure out their talents easily. This idea points out that playtime is a must-have for children at school and they need to play with other counterparts in school to learn the concept of teamwork naturally. Therefore, they will learn to obey the law and be productive by doing social activities. In general, there are two hypotheses about the responsibility of schools to nurture students. The first one knows schools are responsible for preparing useful employees and citizens, but the second one mentions children only need to take benefits from schools individually. Although schools have to focus on the personal growth of each child, they need to prepare them for their future professional life as children are the most valuable asset of each nation.