With the rise in popularity of the internet, newspaper will soon become a thing of the past. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It cannot be denied that a lot of things have changed throughout the centuries. In the modern day, the internet has become popular for the majority even across all ages. Hence, there are some beliefs that newspapers will soon become desolate and I believe the same contention. With the internet gaining a snowball effect in popularity since it made its debut, it has also shaped the norms of society today. In the past, the community relied only on newspapers or magazines in order for them to be updated on the latest news, job posts, and even some journalistic opinions to pass the time. Therefore, these are limited to those who can afford them. Nowadays, publishing houses such as the New York Times or the Guardians have also adapted to the new trend and begun posting news articles online as most people are glued to their phones and tablets. Not only will their posts reach a wider audience, but posts are usually up to date. Furthermore, there have also been movements for the protection of the environment worldwide. With the uprising of the global computer network, more and more people advocate for paperless interactions. To illustrate this, it has been proven that the production of paper leads to increased demand for deforestation. If all publishers choose to operate exclusively online, then there will be no more reason to cut down trees, helping the planet to recover. In conclusion, as the network paves way for online publishing of the latest news and updates, I believe that newspapers will be obsolete in the near future simply because there will be no need for them and the internet is very much more accessible for all.