Some people say that parents have the most important role in a child’s development. However, others argue that other things like television or friends have the most significant influence. Discuss both views and give your own opinion.

People hold different opinions about how different factors affect children ’s development. While some people believe that television or friends are the most important part of shaping a child’s personality, I strongly hold that children are more influenced by their parents. On the one hand, it is understandable why television and friends are thought to play a vital role in children ’s formative years. To begin with, when children are bored, they tend to resort to some entertainment mediums such as television or peers to look for fun, which is likely to keep them jubilant and provide them with positive mental conditions. Should it not be for television and friends, children will suffer from some mental diseases such as loneliness and depression. However, when they want to ask for knowledgeable information, television which lacks interaction, and friends who have limited knowledge cannot satisfy children ’s curiosity. On the other hand, I vehemently believe the aforementioned advantages of television and friends pale in comparison with that of parents. Firstly, parents, who are financially stable and academically qualified, are able to create an optimum plan that suits their children ’s cognitive development, which can potentially support children ’s academic background and prevent them from falling behind with their studies. In fact, a series of well-reviewed research conducted by the universities of Cambridge and Oxford indicates that there is a strong correlation between parental involvement and children ’s academic performance. Secondly, children can develop their physical condition and have fun at the same time thanks to extracurricular courses such as swimming lessons or martial art classes that their parents register them in. If it had not been for parents ’ attention, children would not have had a chance to develop comprehensively. In conclusion, although television and friends can bring about benefits in terms of mental health, parents ’ impacts on children are more significant.