Some people believe that longer prison sentences are the best way to decrease crime while others believe that there are alternative ways to decrease crime. Discuss both views and give your opinion.

Crime is pervasive problem in most countries nowadays. While it is sometimes thought that increasing the jail time is the best possible method to curb the crime, others argue for alternate solutions. In this essay, I will examine both views and explain why I feel that extended prison time is unfair, and counseling and rehabilitation for substance abuse are better alternatives. Those who believe longer prison time is the best solution to reduce crime have two main arguments. First of all, it could deter offenders to commit crime. This is simply because offenders tend to be afraid of the sentence they might face once they commit any wrongful act. Indeed, the crime rate for petty crimes, for instance, tends to be higher than the crimes with longer prison sentence. Another argument is that there will be decreased number of re offenders in the society because of the longer prison sentences. As it is well known that reoffending after completing their jail time is still common, this can be curbed by keeping them in jail for longer period of time. As a result, the longer they are in the prison, the less criminal acts that might happen in the society. Others, however, myself included feel that there are some better possible ways to curb the crime rather than increasing sentence time. One of them is providing counselling to the offenders while they are still in the prison. By doing so the number of reoffenders might reduce. Majority of criminal acts depends on the circumstances rather than intention, so providing support to those offenders helps in reduction of possibility of commiting crime again. Another one is opening rehabilitation centers. As substance abuse is one of the leading causes of crime, dealing with that through rehabilitation is a best way to reduce most of the crime. In conclusion, although prolonged jail time is one way of dealing with increasing crime rate, it is not the best way. In my view, tackling with the root cause of the problem such as with abusers and reoffenders re-offenders actually reduces the crime rate.