News stories on TV and in newspaper are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion?

Newsletters and television headlines are one of the effortless modes of communication with the netizens. It is believed by a few public that when the news bearing pictorial data could be reached out to the audience better than those which do not. I partially agree with the aforementioned statement as displaying of the images should depend on the sensitivity of the information such as the details which require the countrymen's involvement could comprise pictorial representation. However, while illustrating any scandals, then it is unnecessary to do so. On one hand, representation of any kind of information along with images is helpful to understand the impact of the situation. This helps in developing empathy among the news readers and extends a helping hand if need be. For example, during the Covid-19 pandemic, a myriad number of the public were starving. During such instances, many came forward to donate food and groceries. On the other hand, the crime scenes should never be portrayed to the people of the nation as this could either encourage others to participate in such activities or could have an impact on them mentally. For instance, any rape or murder-related information should never be canvased. Watching such criminal videos could lead to health issues like depression and suicide. My family restricts me from travelling during the night after watching such episodes. To summarize, the/ journalists should picturise snapshots based on the content rather than displaying all kinds of news. Sometimes, transparency is required to empathize with the scenario and a few other times, it is important to be discreet about sensitive news.