Influence of human beings on the world's ecosystem is leading to the extinction of species and loss of biodiversity. What are the primary causes of loss of biodiversity? What solutions can you suggest?

In the past decades, the decrease and total disappearance of fauna and flora have never ceased to draw public attention and provoke debates. In the following essay, the causes of this phenomenon and their solutions will be thoroughly discussed. Firstly, it is necessary to acknowledge the negative effects of overpopulation. In fact, the surge in the population is synonymous with the expansion of metropolises and the establishment of other forms of human settlement and therefore results in the destruction of the natural environment and biological diversity. For instance, the vast number of residents in China has resulted in urban sprawls around major cities, leading to the vanish of natural sceneries and the depletion of green spaces. Besides, the excessive desire for animal-deprived products has also greatly contributed to the fall in the number of several animal creatures. Various solutions have been cited to solve the mentioned problems, but it is authorities who become the backbone of the efforts. In particular, legislators should enact policies concerning urbanisation, namely housing development, to minimise the detrimental effects it may bring to the habitats, thereby protecting biodiversity. For example, the US government has introduced a set of regulations concerning industrialisation, urbanisation and preservation of wildlife, effectively securing the national wildlife against any threats. As well as that, incentives should be applied to motivate companies to seek substitutions for animal-derived materials and sanctuaries established for the preservation of endangered animals and plants. In conclusion, it is human activities and habits that become the key factors in the dying out of species and the undermining of wildlife. To improve the situation, governments ought to take proactive actions as well as instruct individual citizens on how to assist the process.