Nowadays, a growing number of people with health problems are trying alternative medicines and treatments instead of visiting their usual doctor. Do you think this is a positive or a negative development?

A population of ageing people with issues of health conditions who prefer taking substitution medication rather than visiting their general practice doctor in primary care hospital. Alternative medicine has its benefits, but I would argue that it is a negative development. Alternative medicine is becoming more popular in recent years, which includes some treatments such as acupuncture, hemopathy and hypnotherapy. Moreover, many folks took it as a majority therapy without a professional physician's suggestion. The reason why it cannot work as a major therapy is that there is no scientific evidence to identify that patients can fully recover by taking a period of the substitution medication. However, people with sickness might get some better feeling after they took such a support cure. For example, terminal cancer patients might reduce their pain through hypnotherapy. On the other hand, there are some advantages for people visiting their own doctors. Firstly, many general practice doctors can find some diseases before a patient’s condition becomes worse through modern techniques. For instance, a physician found that a patient who has unexpected breathing sounds, so the doctor apply a screen of X-ray on the patient, then found that a tumour existed inside the patient’s body. Secondly, the modern drug is more flexible to adjust the doses by following the patient’s condition and the results of blood tests. Lastly, doctors always give the best suggestions and respect the decision that the patient made. In conclusion, I believe that there are some benefits of taking alternative therapy, but it cannot entirely instead the suggestions of remedy that came from their specialist.