In some countries the average weight of people is increasing and their levels of health and fitness are decreasing. What do you think are the causes of these problems and what measures could be taken to solve them?

These days, a lot of people are becoming obese and the public health status is declining gradually. This can be due to many things concerning their diet and lifestyle, and I believe this issue can be tackled together by governmental and individual cooperation. As we can see,the majority of people are struggling everyday to survive in this competitive world. They go back and forth between work and home on a daily basis, and so they can literally find no time to care for their physical well-being. In that way, they unknowingly tend to live a sedentary lifestyle in which there is no physical exercise done. Another fact that contributes to bad shape is having an unhealthy diet. In recent times, a variety of junk foods have become widespreadly popular and people love to have them as regular meals. The sad truth is that those fast foods contain a high amount of preservatives and cholesterol which affects our body notoriously. As for instance, for a person who sits and lies all the time and eats hamburgers everyday, the risks of obesity, cardiovascular disease and cancers, doubles. There are some actions that governments could take to curb obesity. More sports facilities and public parks should be erected to help people gain motivation to do exercises. Moreover, for the bad diet culture, the government should heavily tax fast food stores and use the revenue generated to subsidise healthy fruits and vegetables to make the organic diet cheaper and more widely available. On the other hand, we, as individuals,should be aware of the potential consequences of an unfit lifestyle and try to do physical exercises such as working out, yoga, tai chi, etc. Besides, it is time to change our diet style to wholesome foods and nutritious meals to treat our body well. In conclusion, to combat this public health problem, both the government and people themselves should work together in maintaining a healthy diet and lifestyle.