Mmany people are now opting to provide technology companies with their personal data in exchange for access to software. do the advantages of this outweight the disadvantages.

There has been an ever-rising demand for a variety of software, that interest a person in various ways. However, everyone is not willing to pay for it, and just to use it for free, people compromise their privacy. This essay will discuss both merits and demerits of doing such things and conclude that the disadvantages are far more concerning than the advantages. On one hand, software has now become an integral part of technology and human lives. Be it an office employee or an undergraduate student, everyone requires software for one purpose or another, which ranges from having their formal writing checked online to making presentations for academic assignments. But, this software cost much more which a normal person could not afford. So, they make their personal details available to the company and enjoy limited access to software. Secondly, other software such as for online gaming, are also available for free in return for some private information. Despite the advantages, sharing personal details could be harmful. Companies might harass these individuals through these details and invade their privacy by using it in ways that would benefit them, regardless of the owner's consent. Also, every now and then, there is news about personal data getting stolen from companies, which means now your data is available to some fourth person as well. Moreover, this private sharing of information also involves spam e-mails, and countless phone calls from companies asking for your feedback on their service and also to increase your subscription plans further. To sum up, it seems advisable to avoid enjoying free services at the expense of your freedom and privacy. Therefore, every single person should think sensibly before taking any such step that might lead their details in the wrong place.