In their advertising, businesses nowadays usually emphasise that their products are new in some way. Why is this? Do you think it is a positive or negative development?

It is becoming common for companies to highlight that their item is the newest in advertising. I believe there are two main reasons why some firms use this marketing strategy, and its cons outweigh the pros. In my view, there are two main reasons why the marketing department emphasises that their item is new. Firstly, they try making their products more attractive when displayed on the shelves. So labelling that with a significant red colour word is one of the strategies to promote products. Secondly, modern people seem to be materialistic, and consumers prefer to buy the latest product because they want to show off or to satisfy their desires. Social media, for example, can be a platform and help people to become well-known by showing their properties. The marketing strategy follows the preference of consumers to increase sales figures. On the one hand, customers with unlimited options may encourage these companies to develop outstanding products to provide to their customers. On the other hand, this promoting way may indirectly encourage consumers to buy unnecessary products. For example, I usually pay attention to information about new technology products and am considering buying a new computer to replace my current one, even though it is still functional. Furthermore, this could result in people becoming obsessive and producing waste. Recent research indicates that 3C products are one of the reasons for the trash crisis. In conclusion, some businesses announce their company's product uniqueness to attract the attention of the public, and I believe that the phenomenon is more disadvantageous than advantageous.