The threat of nuclear weapons maintains world peace. Nuclear power provides cheap and clean energy. The benefits of nuclear technology far outweigh the disadvantages. To what extent do you agree or disagree? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

At present, constantly search for new energy sources has been ever-rising as population and consumption of fossil fuels are soaring. Developed countries, today, to a greater exent rely relys on nuclear power to fullfill their energy demands. While people consider this source inexpensive, high quality and most significantly a way to have national security, it cannot be overlooked that the demerits it brings with us are far more concerning. For instance, threat to poor and under-developed countries. I strongly oppose this view of considering pros of nuclear power important over its cons. To start with, one of the core problem that comes with nuclear power as energy source is it ability to evoke a greater deal of destruction all over the world. Many countries where they have no such facility that could ensure their security, are constantly frightened by their nearby countries and other powerful ones, for they have their own nuclear powerplants and stations. One such recent example is the war between Russia and Ukraine, where the former used its nuclear source on the latter. As a result, the lives of people there has been greatly impacted. Additionally, the radioactive substances generated from nuclear stations affect its surrounding flora and fauna and quite hamrful to humans as well, though the latter case is not usually seen as these stations are built far away from human civilisation. However, it also appears that this energy is reliable in some ways. For example, providing us with non-polluted air and is less costly to produce. Further, a sense of peace and harmony is created by it, as it is the greatest weapon that any country could now have to ensure their safety and anyone would think twice before doing something that would lead them and others in trouble. To sum up, In my view no merits of nuclear energy can suppress the demrits of this power. In other words, if one nuclear bomb exploded, it would unquestionably destroy half of our planet.