Many manufactured food and drink products contain high levels of sugar, which causes many health problems. Sugary products should be made more expensive to encourage people to consume less sugar. Do you agree or disagree?

It is a commonly known fact that a high quantity of the currently produced food and beverages contains an extremely important amount of carbohydrate, which is proved to be bad for the well-being of human beings especially if consumed in high quantities. I personally am of the opinion that increasing the price of these products could lead to a lot of benefits both for the health of people and for the funds of a country. Firstly, drinks and foodstuff which contain what is considered "bad sugars", usually make people's weight increase to a point where they become obese. For instance, a statistic coming from the United States Department of Health, says that more than 40% of the current American population is overweight. The Federal Government recently passed a law that imposes a new tax that made all the sugary beverages such as Coca-Cola, Fanta, or Pepsi, slightly increase their prices. Hopefully, this decision will help the United States correct one of the biggest health issues it has been facing since the 1960s. From a solution like the previously explained one, comes also other benefits, indeed an expense on carbohydrate beverages and food will make a country earns more money that can later be redistributed to the population. It is possible to say for example that the amount of money a state could retrieve from a "sugar tax" can be enough to finance measures aimed at poorer low-income families that will help them save more money or to build infrastructures such as bridges or railways. Therefore, a sugar tariff can produce wealth that can help improve the public services used by every citizen in a country. To conclude, increasing the price of sugary foodstuff and drinks is a good idea to improve the population's quality of life by preserving its wealth and providing more public services and it will definitely make people think twice before buying such a threat to their well-being.