Computers are often argued to be the most important invention of the last hundred years. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this statement?

Computers have become a prevalent tool nowadays both at work and in our daily life. Therefore, it is argued that computers should be considered the most significant invention in the contemporary era. Proponents of this idea may claim that such device has dramatically extended the ability to calculate. Such infinite calculation capacity of computers leads to a large number of technology marvels. For example, super computers can instantly measure how much fuel is needed for a rocket to successfully launch compared with the traditional calculation by pen and paper. Computers also make similar contributions in the fields of chemistry, physics and biology. This, with no doubt, accelerates technological advances and pale all the other inventions. However, opponents, including me, insist that another invention is of greater significance, the Internet. This is where the question of what is the role of the Internet comes into play. While computers promote the development of technology, the Internet provides average people with access to the outside world. For instance, businessmen now are able to advertise their products to foreign customers with a click of mouse due to the worldwide web. Students can gain free and quality educational resources such as lectures from prestigious universities from the Internet. Without the Internet, companies and students would still have to follow conventional practices, which were less efficient. Therefore, the Internet has positively affected the majority of the world's population. In conclusion, computers do assist researchers and scientists in promoting the development of technology. However, it is the Internet that truly transforms almost every aspect of people's daily life.