Essay topics: more and more measures to improve the security in the urban area have been introduced because of the increased crime. Do the benefits of the measures outweigh the drawbacks ?

With an increase in the high rate of felonies, government has introduced security measures in the metropolitan area which some people argued that it has drawbacks. This essay will debate whether the benefits of this effort outweigh the demerits. This essay will first discuss the insertion of hidden cameras in public places and will go further to discuss how security intervenes with their freedom. Improving safety and living free from criminals is totally beneficial to society. Putting hidden public cameras in vulnerable places, far from the central cities, such as putting them in dark places would reduce the number of offenders committing crimes, and positioning police officers on the street also show the same advantageous impact. This is because criminals will be conscious of cameras or police existence. Thereby, the offender will be afraid of being caught if they commit a crime. For instance, China recorded a 10% decrease in Street crime in 2015. On the contrary, many people argue that the increase in police watch is an unfair interference. They feel that being watched around the clock does not give the public their personal space and makes them uncomfortable because their private moments are being recorded. However, this is a baseless condition because the private places are not under surveillance and hence people can still enjoy their intimate time freely. For instance, restaurants only have oversight cameras in general areas like reception and the convenience are not being watched. In Conclusion, an increase in security has declined criminal behaviour and has given an opportunity the people to celebrate freely which has given a boost to businesses. Therefore, the demerits overshadow unconfirmed frights of the surveillance of private places.