Many people believe that cycling is a healthy and environmentally friendly mode of transport. However, it is still unpopular in many countries. What are the reasons? What could be done to encourage the use of bicycles among wider population?

Doing physical activities, such as cycling, regularly is vital to keep our bodies and minds healthy. Although this sport is one type of such helpful activity, in some countries it is still not so common. In this essay, I will discuss some reasons for this phenomenon, such as that cycling is not enough promoted by the government and the lack of equipped roads for it and will provide a few solutions like building appropriate roads and providing a bicycle share program, which can increase this sport's popularity among people. Low use of bicycles, first of all, might be due to a few factors. One of them is that government does not make enough efforts to promote this type of sport among the population. If countries' authority institutions pay more attention and implement educational programs actively to alter people's mindsets, cycling would be definitely much more popular. Another crucial reason deterring this sport from viral spread is the tremendous lack of well-equipped roads for cycling. In Korea, for example, cycling sportsmen have no other choice, but to do it on ordinary car roads and put at risk their own lives, which definitely affects the situation negatively. Few steps, however, may be taken in order to contribute to improving the issue. Proper roads for cycling, to begin with, are essential if we want to make this sport extremely popular among people. Safe and high-quality roads, provided by the government, indeed, would help to grow this type of sport's popularity. One more effective way to improve the situation is by creating and implementing a bicycle-sharing program. Such programs, for instance, contributed to surging in bicycle use in Seoul city within the last seven years. In conclusion, certainly, cycling is a quite helpful way to stay healthy. In this essay, I explained, that shortage of equipped roads for this activity and the lack of its promotion by the government may deter its wide-spreading, and that properly equipped roads and bicycle-sharing programs may be good solutions to tackle this problem.