The majority of news being reported is bad news. Why do you think this is? Should bad news be banned?

Nowadays, the proportion of bad news that is spread among the public is much higher than that of neutral or even good news. I believe that we, as people who live in a society, need to be exposed to both negative and positive incidents, even on a global scale, and placing restrictions on certain types of news, whether good or bad, is not a logical choice. There might be various reasons behind the fact that negative news is more widely spread. By human nature, we are always looking for something to be concerned about. People watch the news for hours to learn about wars in the Middle East or natural disasters such as floods or earthquakes. Most of the time, following such news can motivate people to help other individuals struggling with such critical situations and send them the first aid they need. For example, during the California wildfires, many Americans gave housing and shelter to their co-nationals. The advantages of public awareness about negative news outweigh its disadvantages**,** so it is not recommended to prohibit it completely. One of the most important benefits of learning about negative news is that it helps us prepare ourselves if the same issue arises in the future and be better prepared mentally. As a result, unexpected problems can be tackled more logically. Moreover, a huge amount of negative news originates from the political sector of a country, and if people do not have access to all news, they will not be able to choose their political candidates wisely. In conclusion, if people are only surrounded by negative information, it can have a detrimental effect on their mental well-being and cause depression or increase the suicide rate. However, it is unrealistic to assume that people are living in a Utopia. Therefore, being exposed to both good and bad updates in a balanced way is a key factor in this modern era.