Do you feel it is better for young people leaving school to study further at University or go straight into the workplace ?

It's an ongoing argument in many countries whether youngsters should take a job after completing their higher secondary education or proceed with graduation. In my opinion, and based on my experience, joining the graduate program after finishing school will benefit students in achieving their career goals. Firstly, age matters in entering any workforce and teenagers might not find the relevant job they would like to pursue as their career. Secondly, the workplace environment is stressful and hard to cope with an experienced adult in a daily operation. For example, a recent survey found that most youngsters work as factory employees due to their limited education and lack of experience, so they may not find a suitable position. Moreover, these juniors suffer from depression due to strain received at a young age. On the contrary, working during their free time after leaving school and before joining the university will give children a genuine experience that can benefit their studies. Besides, it will help kids select the education stream that they are comfortable with and can achieve high grades in the examination. To illustrate, after completing schooling, Singapore highly recommends that kids join the National Service for two years, which will make them socially responsible and training at the centre make the student independent, punctual, and autonomous. To conclude, working for a certain period before joining the university will benefit the students in their studies and career ahead. However, skipping university and starting work after finishing school is not recommended as kids will not be able to achieve high, and they will work forcibly for the non-suitable position.