Schools have different strategies for choosing their students. Some think that a high academic ability is the most important factor, while others believe that students with different abilities should be educated together.

Schools have different strategies for choosing their students. Some think that a high academic ability/ies is the most important factor, while others believe that students with different abilities should be educated together. This essay will discuss both sides of the argument and provide evidence as to why classifying students based on their educational abilities is superior. Having a variety of students from different levels of skills in classes can be advantageous for both higher and lower-level students. They can try to identify their weaknesses by discussing different topics and courses. For instance, a student with difficulties in algebra can seek help from his friend who has a top score in this topic; on the other hand, he can also improve and revise his knowledge by explaining again. In short, different students in a class can help each other to grow together; however, this can cause anxiety for weaker students. Selecting pupils based on their academic ability can seem to be discriminating, but it ensures that each student receives education based on his or her needs. For example, repeating basic concepts that are necessary for an ordinary student can be tedious for a brilliant one. By separating students, a teacher can identify the problems and weaknesses of the class and provide more reinforcement classes to boost their grades. In the meantime, the top class can focus on advanced concepts to make progress faster. In conclusion, each school has a different way of pupil selection, but I believe that categorizing students based on their grades and academic skills is the best since it contributes to the well-being of students especially weak ones, and it decreases the teachers' work by giving them opportunity to just focus on the same level of students.