In many countries, children are becoming overweight and unhealthy. Some people think that the government has the responsibility to solve this problem. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

Obesity is prevailing among adolescents. Many argue that the onus should be on the government to mitigate this issue. From my viewpoint, although it will be difficult for the authorities to manage the eating patterns of children, they can still take steps to tackle this issue. In this essay, I will support my argument in the upcoming paragraphs. To commence with, the government can spread awareness to a wide-range and target school students. Moreover, the officials can introduce a subject pertaining to food nutrition and add it to the curriculum. They can also train the teachers to pass down the knowledge of eating a well-balanced diet. Apart from this, the government can organise a poster-making competition or a quiz which is related to a healthy lifestyle theme. Additionally, authorities can grant funds to provide healthy meals for the children. Thus, this will encourage them to consume nutritious food over junk food. Furthermore, the government has resources to set up playgrounds and fitness clubs. In other words, this will bolster adolescents' fitness and build stamina. Moreover, they will endeavour to play sports such as cricket, football, and swimming and indulge themselves in physical activities. Thus, this will help in improving their well-being. Besides this, the government can mark up the prices of sugar drinks and chocolate bars. Hence, parents will avoid these purchases. To summarise, the government has the power to sanction funds to promote healthy food eating habits, and open playgrounds to inculcate fitness. From my perspective, direct support from the higher authorities will help in minimising the rate of overweight and unhealthy children.