In many countries today, major cities have become too big and overcrowded. Why is this? What measures could be taken to reduce this problem?

It has become quite common to see a city becoming too much congested and bigger than it is supposed to be. There are many factors that can be held accountable for creating such a scenario. But still, there exist ample solutions for the above-said issue. Metropolitans and cosmopolitans alike can be considered as a hub for many different people from various walks of life contributing to quicker growth of the area which leads towards more job opportunities which ultimately attracts the attention of people from nearby areas, especially rural ones. As there are barely any jobs or facilities available in such an area which causes people to move to better places in search of jobs and a quality lifestyle. For instance, In developing countries like India, barely a tenth of the total population desires to live a countryside lifestyle. Most want to live somewhere in a bigger city where they can have a better livelihood and get all the amenities they want. However, such a problem can easily be solved if the government decides to intervene and introduce policies that may force a proportion of industries and other businesses to shift their area of operation to the lesser developed regions to curb the migration rate. As people will start getting jobs slowly the desire to move to other places will become non-existent as all their needs can and will be satisfied in their own native area and the sudden shift of industries and increment in employment rate will also raise the economy of such underdeveloped areas which help them in attracting and providing better facilities and security for their residents. For instance, In Australia, the government provides subsidiaries for any businesses interested in opening a branch in rural areas which has helped in boosting the growth of such underdeveloped regions. In conclusion, Due to the lack of jobs and facilities, people are forced to leave their hometowns behind and move to cities, making them too crowded. However, such a problem can be easily avoided if the authorities are willing to take appropriate action.