Some people believe that the best way to reduce crime is to give longer prison sentences. Others, however, believe there are better alternative ways of reducing crime.

Nowadays, there is a discourse surrounding crime and societal implications that has generated significant interest in debate and concerns. The assertion that the most effective way to decrease the crime rate is by giving extended imprisonment to criminals is a subject of considerable discussion. While advocates argue that giving longer imprisonment is the best way to reduce the crime opponents believe there are more profound ways to prevent it. This essay will outline both sides of view along with my opinion. Undoubtedly, the primary reason for the community believing that criminals should be punished for a longer period of time in jail is because of serious crimes committed by criminals which should never be forgiven. To illustrate this, it is not fair for the victims if their criminal who has murdered their loved ones and has caused severe damage to society has been sentenced for a shorter period and not a capital sentence. Therefore, culprits who have done serious offences like terrorism, rape and murder should be in prison for the longest time to give justice to other people and to prevent recidivism. On the other hand, some folks think that criminals are also human beings and can become better by taking a positive approach. For instance, people who committed minor offences can be prevented from reconvicting crime such as by developing reintegration programs. Further to this, rehabilitation programs can give a fair chance to those criminals to get better and to develop useful skills that can be used in future once they finish their punishment in jail. As a result, there will be a reduction in the tendency of reoccurring crime. To conclude, in my opinion, law authorities should take strict actions toward offenders by giving them longer or capital sentences that would set an example to create fear in humans thinking of convicting crime.