Many museums and historic sites are mainly visited by tourists rather than by local residents. What are the causes of this? What can be done for museums and historic sites to attract more local visitors?

Every country's heritage is played an important role in the economy. The majority of travellers are willing to explore different archaeological sites around the world. Nevertheless, this is not a positive trend among local residents. This essay will analyse the reasons for such behaviour and come up with some solutions with relevant examples. To begin with, the majority of historic sites are tourist traps where those destinations are promoted to attract more outsiders rather than locals. According to behavioural researchers' findings depicted, tourism is a money-making field whereas most tour guides can make good fortune in these historical areas. On the other hand, residents are aware of such traps; hence, they always try to avoid them. Moreover, people who are born and raised in the region have adequate knowledge about their history and culture. This makes them reluctant to visit the museum that displays ancient findings. A social survey conducted by Oxford University indicated that flocks who know the surrounding are not willing to pay expensive ticket prices for a few hours of the day. In order to improve the citizen's travel experience, governments can initiate new policies. First of all, the foreign ministry can reduce ticket prices for locals or provide them with free entry passes. To cite an example, giving a season pass to visit the ancient palaces and other historically important destinations has encouraged people to come and experience their own identity. Secondly, releasing funds to build different kinds of museums dedicated to art and craft, literature and traditions can attract a lot of individuals who are studying in the given field. Thirdly, authorities have to organise a wide variety of events to spread the importance of viewing such locations. To sum up, the country's citizens are the taxpayers, and it is the government's responsibility to offer the facilities that motivate them to enjoy their own heritage.