Many museums and historic sites are mainly visited by tourists rather than by local residents. What are the causes of this? What can be done for museums and historic sites to attract more local visitors?

It's commonplace that many museums and historical sites are mainly visited by tourists rather than by local residents. There are many reasons behind it, and they will be explained in the following paragraphs. First and foremost. Their content is monotonous and tedious. Take me as an example. I was in Berlin last month, and I visited many museums in Berlin. I would say the antiques in those museums were eye-catching and arresting; however, I wouldn't visit them again. Not only because of the content but also because of their poor transportation. As we know, the number of antiques in a museum is finite; in other words, whenever you visit it, you will probably see the same antiques. It's difficult to get new antiques in a museum. Besides, a museum or historical site usually requires a large space, which means they probably have poor public transport. Second, their target groups are limited. As we know, a museum and historical site is always tranquil and quiet; in other words, they are only popular for people who have time to really enjoy those antiques and like tranquillity. Therefore, it doesn't seem that those tourist attractions are in line with young people's tastes. In addition, our prolonged working hours are also one the main causes. Because we have to work longer, we don't have surplus time to visit museums or historical sites. On the other hand, there are some ways for museums and historical sites to attract more local visitors. For instance, museums can hold some activities, such as a treasure hunt. Children can find some real " antiques " in a treasure hunt, like a dinosaur model. If a museum can catch children's fondness, then it is bound to attract more visitors, because kids always come with parents. In conclusion, there are two main reasons and the best solution.