An increasing number of people are buying what they need online. What are the advantages and disadvantages for both individuals and companies to shopping on line.

In the past decade, many individuals have been changing how they acquire products, as they prefer to buy online instead of visiting physical shops. While this new behaviour may have some advantages, there are several consequences that might be highly prejudicial to our society. Supporters of online shopping point out some advantages. Firstly, it might be very convenient for consumers, as we can find a lot of things by accessing one single website. For instance, we can do our groceries and buy car products at the same time by accessing Amazon. In the past, we would have to visit several stores, perhaps in different parts of the city, to find these items. Secondly, it is safer. This is particularly relevant in locations where the crime rate is high. In my hometown, for example, there are several robberies in areas where stores are located. Finally, for patients with disability online shopping could be an important tool, as many cities across the world do not have appropriate public transportation for this population and stores which are adapted to serve them. Although I agree that the above arguments are valid, I do not believe that this steadily increased number of online stores is beneficial for our economy. Many small businesses cannot afford to have an online website and physical stores. Not only, are store closing their doors but also a lot of employees are losing their job. My grandfather, for example, had a grocery store for more than 40 years in my hometown, unfortunately, he could not compete with big online supermarkets, and he closed his shop last year. Moreover, by shopping online, we lose interaction with other consumers and sellers. This can be relevant when we need a second opinion before acquiring an important item. For instance, I like to hear the expert opinion of sellers when I buy electronic devices such as mobiles and computers. In a nutshell, at a first glance, the use of the internet to shop may be interesting. However, in a more detailed analysis of its consequences, this can be extremely harmful to our economy.