Many young people are leaving their homes in rural areas to study or work in the cities. What are the reasons? Do the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

Nowadays, a great number of youngsters opt to go for higher studies in the metropolis, leaving their hometown. There are certain acceptable reasons about this trend. As for me, I believe that the merits overcome the drawbacks. Arguably, one of the disadvantages of studying in the urban area is the amount of money that is needed is much higher than when one chooses to go to school in rural areas. This is because, the student has to travel a lot and pay for accommodation and food. For example, a learner, has to be charged higher rental fees so that he could have a more secured and safe place to live. As a result, parents of these students have to provide the funds thus making it harder for themselves. On the other hand, I think it is much more beneficial for young adults to pursue their studies in the cities. One reason is that it teaches an individual to become independent. Take for example, cooking their own food and doing the laundry. These will be primarily done by the learner, in the absence of her loved ones. Thus, basic life skills are learned in such way. Moreover, there are better opportunities when studying in the city. Students get the best and quality education due to more advanced in technology used by institutions. To illustrate this, learning institutions are given the right budget by the government for the improvement of their school, as compared to the funds that the rural areas receive. Therefore, students would highly benefit from this. In conclusion, although it might be expensive to study in the city, the advantages of being independent and having a broader opportunities for learning outweighs the former.