In recent years some countries have experienced very rapid economic development. This has resulted in much higher standards of living in urban areas but not in the countryside. This situation may bring some problems for the country as a whole. What are tbses problems? How might they be reduced?

It is a worrisome but genuine trend that countries experiencing rapid economic growth develop urban lifestyles more than those in rural areas do. As a result, the lack of opportunities and amenities in rural areas that abound in cities prompt massive rural-urban migration. This consequently demands a fair distribution of wealth amongst all citizens regardless of their location in the country. Flourishing economies of countries do not mean that every citizen is benefiting equally as city dwellers seem to benefit more than those in rural areas do by having better qualities of life and services. This leads to rural urban migration as people flock to urban areas in search of better livelihoods. For example, if rural people in the Eastern Cape Province are not receiving the same amenities as those in urbanised provinces, they will opt to move. Consequently, urban overpopulation and shantytown development are some of the downsides of wealth imbalances and different life standards in South Africa. Research shows that wealth distribution needs to be reviewed to curb this clear anomaly. Decentralisation is one of the solutions where rural areas benefit from investments such as university or research facilities are built closer to them. For example, a building state-of-the-art facilities in the predominantly rural Limpopo province and not in Gauteng province. Lack of amenities results in brain drain from rural areas. Therefore, building new and upgrading existing facilities in rural areas can be a solution to elevate the standards of rural dwellers. In conclusion, regardless of their locality, unless the living standards of all citizens are uplifted and not only for those in urban areas, there will always be rural-urban migration leading to urban overpopulation. Finally, socio-economic hardships experienced in urban areas are largely due to the unequal wealth distribution in a country.