Plastic bags, plastic bottles and plastic packaging are bad for the environment. What damage does plastic do to the environment? What can be done by governments and individuals to solve this problem?

Undoubtedly, plastic is the worst enemy of the planet, despite that human beings are using plastic in various forms, be it plastic packaging or plastic containers, for many decades. In this essay, I will explain how plastic is dangerous for our environment and will suggest some ways in which we as individuals as well as governments can come together to prevent any further damage. It cannot be denied that plastic is harmful to nature as well as to human beings in many ways. Above all, it is well known that plastic cannot be recycled and is not biodegradable, so it accumulates and is mostly dumped into seas and oceans, which ultimately affects the marine life. On beaches, for instance, we encounter a lot of plastic waste that has been dumped years ago and is as it is. Therefore, the time is not far when our ocean beds will be full of plastic waste, and there will be no marine life. As a after effect, the whole ecosystem would be disturbed. There are, however, a few actions that if governments and individuals take together, can help in alleviating the probelms. One is the government could impose hefty fine on individuals who are caught disposing plastic in the water bodies, which can eventually help in preserving the marine life. Moreover, limiting or banning the use of plastic can altogether bring a huge change and can help us in preserving our environment. Apart from that, I believe it is absoultely necessary for individuals to understand the issue and take necessary actions themselves, for example, refraining from buying goods and food items packaged in plastic bags. Otherwise the day is not far when all of us would be suffering due to our negligient negligence behaviour towards the planet. In conclusion, since plastic is causing a great damage to our environment, all of us have to join hands in order to overcome the challenges that are likely to occur in the future. If we understand our responsibility and take necessary actions today, we can surely preserve our environment.