People believe that being literate in English allows you to acquire better jobs and thus allows one to have access to a better standard of living.Up to what extent do you agree or disagree with the statement?

Understanding and having a good grip on the English language opens huge job opportunities in the employment market. I completely agree with this idea because it helps us to prosper and have a luxurious and comfortable life for ourselves and our families. To commence with, it is irrefutable that English is a global language and is predominantly spoken in western countries where job opportunities are in abundance. Many Multinational companies have clients and businesses running all over the world, where English is the primary mode of communication. In this contemporary era, it is almost impossible to land a job with lucrative pay without reading, writing and speaking the English language. For instance,knowing this language helps you make new friends,most of the journals are written in English, and travelling becomes easier if you have good speaking skills. Efficient use of the language will help in career growth which in turn serves for a prosperous life. Furthermore, immigration is surging every year. People want to migrate to developed countries where they have good infrastructure,governance,education and less population. All these countries have English as their primary language, the basic criteria for the candidates to qualify are to have effective communication skills, they should be able to converse with the locals, get jobs and help their economy grow. As are we all aware, Canada and Australia have more immigrants every year since they have English as their main language, so it becomes easy for people who have a good command of the language to move and settle there with their families. To conclude, English is an indispensable language, proficiency in this highly beneficial for a person professionally and personally as it gives opportunities for high paid jobs and upraises our standards.